Wings of Fire Books in Order: Tui T. Sutherland’s 15 Book Series

Wings of Fire is a series of children’s epic dragon fantasy novels written by Tui T. Sutherland. The series is primarily aimed at young adult readers and follows the journey of a young dragon named Clay and his friends as they attempt to save their world from war and destruction. Over 14 million copies of the books have been sold worldwide.

Sl. No.Wings of Fire Books in Order
1)The Dragonet Prophecy (2012)
2)The Lost Heir (2013)
3)The Hidden Kingdom (2013)
4)The Dark Secret (2013)
5)The Brightest Night (2014)
6)Moon Rising (2014)
7)Winter Turning (2015)
8)Escaping Peril (2015)
9)Talons of Power (2016)
10)Darkness of Dragons (2017)
11)The Lost Continent (2018)
12)The Hive Queen (2018)
13)The Poison Jungle (2019)
14)The Dangerous Gift (2021)
15)The Flames of Hope (2022)

The story takes place in a world called Pyrrhia, where dragons rule and are divided into seven tribes, each with its own unique abilities and traits.

Throughout the adventure series, readers are introduced to a cast of memorable dragon characters, each with their own backstory and motivations. The books explore themes such as friendship, loyalty, and courage, and feature plenty of action, adventure, and magical elements.

The first arc of the Wings of Fire series has been adapted into graphic novels, and the second arc is currently being adapted. In 2020, Netflix announced that Warner Bros.

Animation would develop an animated television series based on the series with Ava DuVernay as showrunner. However, in 2022, Netflix scrapped the series for unspecified reasons.

Tui T. Sutherland’s Biography

Tui T. Sutherland is an American author who grew up in South America, Europe, and the United States. Sutherland is the author of several popular book series for children and young adults, including the Wings of Fire series, the Menagerie series, and the Avatars trilogy, among others.

Before becoming a full-time writer, Sutherland worked as a children’s book editor for several years. She has said that her love of books and storytelling comes from her mother, who was a librarian, and that she has been writing stories since she was a child. Sutherland currently lives in Boston with her husband, their two children, and their dog.

Who are the main protagonists of the series?

The Wings of Fire series has multiple main protagonists, each with their own unique story and abilities. Here is a brief description of each of the main characters:

1) Clay: A young dragon from the MudWing tribe, known for his loyalty and sense of justice.
2) Tsunami: A fierce dragon from the SeaWing tribe, with a strong sense of duty and a desire to protect her friends.
3) Glory – A dragon from the RainWing tribe, with the ability to camouflage herself and a desire to bring peace to Pyrrhia.

Wings of Fire Books in Order

The Wings of Fire series consists of 15 books in total, divided into three main arcs. Here’s a brief overview of each book in the series:

Arc One: The Dragonet Prophecy

1) The Dragonet Prophecy (2012)

The Dragonet Prophecy (2012)

The Dragonet Prophecy is the wings of fire book 1. The first book in the series, where we meet the five young dragonets who are prophesied to save Pyrrhia from a deadly war.

2) The Lost Heir (2013)

The Lost Heir (2013)

The dragonets’ journey to the kingdom of the SeaWings to find Tsunami’s missing mother and uncover a dangerous plot.

3) The Hidden Kingdom (2013)

The Hidden Kingdom (2013)

The dragonets explore the RainWing kingdom and uncover a sinister plot to overthrow the queen.

4) The Dark Secret (2013)

The Dark Secret (2013)

The dragonets travel to the NightWing kingdom to seek the help of Starflight’s tribe but uncover dark secrets and betrayal.

5) The Brightest Night (2014)

The Brightest Night (2014)

The dragonets must face their ultimate challenge as they race to prevent the outbreak of a deadly war between the tribes.

Arc Two: The Jade Mountain Prophecy

6) Moon Rising (2014)

Moon Rising (2014)

A new prophecy emerges as a young NightWing named Moonwatcher discovers she has a special ability to see the future.

7) Winter Turning (2015)

Winter Turning (2015)

The dragonets travel to the Ice Kingdom to investigate a mysterious illness that threatens the dragon population.

8) Escaping Peril (2015)

Escaping Peril (2015)

A fierce SkyWing named Peril joins the dragonets on their journey, but her loyalty is put to the test when a dangerous threat emerges.

9) Talons of Power (2016)

Talons of Power (2016)

Dark forces threaten the dragonets as they struggle to fulfill their destiny and prevent a new war from erupting.

10) Darkness of Dragons (2017)

Darkness of Dragons (2017)

An epic battle between good and evil ensues as the dragonets race to defeat the evil dragon, Darkstalker, who has returned to seek revenge.

Arc Three: The Lost Continent Prophecy

11) The Lost Continent (2018)

The Lost Continent (2018)

A new series arc begins with a young SilkWing named Blue, who embarks on a dangerous journey to find the lost continent of Pantala.

12) The Hive Queen (2018)

The Hive Queen (2018)

Blue teams up with a new friend, Cricket, to infiltrate the HiveWings and save her tribe from destruction.

13) The Poison Jungle (2019)

The Poison Jungle (2019)

The dragonets journey into the treacherous Poison Jungle to find the antidote to a deadly disease threatening Pantala.

14) The Dangerous Gift (2021)

The Dangerous Gift (2021)

A new threat emerges as the dragonets struggle to prevent a catastrophic war between the SilkWings and HiveWings.

15) The Flames of Hope (2022)

The Flames of Hope (2022)

Wings of Fire book 15 and the final one in the series sees the dragonets facing their biggest challenge yet, as they work to save their world from destruction and fulfill their ultimate destiny.


Two standalone titles: Darkstalker (2016) and Dragon Slayer (2020), separate from the main arc have been published. Both of these books feature alternating perspectives surrounding little-known major historical sequences as they actually happened.


Winglets are supplementary short stories that peer into the lives and development of secondary characters who feature in the main books. These short stories, Prisoner (2015), Assassin (2015), Deserter (2016), and Runaway (2016), were originally published as e-book titles.

Wings of Fire Books in Order: Tui T. Sutherland’s 15 Book Series
Wings of Fire Books in Order: Tui T. Sutherland’s 15 Book Series

Frequently Asked Questions

In what order do you read Wings of Fire?

The Wings of Fire series should be read in the order of publication.1) The Dragonet Prophecy (2012) 2) The Lost Heir (2013) 3) The Hidden Kingdom (2013) 4) The Dark Secret (2013) 5) The Brightest Night (2014) 6) Moon Rising (2014) 7) Winter Turning (2015) 8) Escaping Peril (2015) 9) Talons of Power (2016) 10) Darkness of Dragons (2017) 11) The Lost Continent (2018) 12) The Hive Queen (2018) 13) The Poison Jungle (2019) 14) The Dangerous Gift (2021) 15) The Flames of Hope (2022)

Is there a book 17 of Wings of Fire?

There are only 15 books in the three arcs. Apart from these, there are 2 standalone titles and 4 supplementary short stories. Many people claim that there are 16 or 18 books. But that's not true.

Why was Wings of Fire banned?

Wings of Fire has been banned only in a few libraries for depictions of violence.

What grade level reading is Wings of Fire?

The reading grade level of the Wings of Fire is 3-8.

What age is appropriate for Wings of Fire?

The Wings of Fire is appropriate for children of ages between 8-13 years.

Is there a new Wings of Fire book in works?

As of now, there is no new novel of Wings of Fire book in works.