The Maze Runner Books in Order: How to read James Dashner’s series?

Here you will find the correct way to read The Maze Runner books in order.

The Maze Runner book series is a young adult science fiction novel series set in a dystopian land. The main trilogy follows Thomas, a young man who is left stranded inside a maze with a community of similarly aged boys after his memory has been erased.

The popular book series was adapted into a film series in 2014, starring Kaya Scodelario, Will Poulter, Dylan O’Brien, Tomas Brodie-Sangster, and Patricia Clarkson in the main roles.

If you’re also a fan of dystopian novels like the Hunger Games, then you would also be eager to read the Maze Runner book in order, so here we go.

Sl. No.The Maze Runner Books in OrderLink
1.The Maze Runner (2009)View on Amazon
2.The Scorch Trials (2010)View on Amazon
3.The Death Cure (2011)View on Amazon
4.Crank Palace (2020)View on Amazon
5.The Maze Cutter (2022)r (2022)View on Amazon
6.The Kill Order (2012)View on Amazon
7.The Fever Code (2016)View on Amazon
8.The Maze Runner FilesView on Amazon
9.Inside the Maze Runner: The Guide to the GladeView on Amazon
The Maze Runner Books in Order

James Dashner’s Biography

James Dashner is an American author who mostly writes for children and young adults. He is best known for the young adult fantasy series ‘The 13th Reality’ and ‘The Maze Runner.’

Dashner was raised as a Mormon in Georgia as one of six children. He went on to get a master’s degree in accounting from Brigham Young University. He made his debut as a writer with a book titled ‘A Door in the Woods.’

The Maze Runner Books in Order (Date of Publication)

It is up to the reader to decide whether they want to read the Maze Runner Books series in the order of its publication or in chronological order. Let’s find out the order of the Maze Runner Books in publication order.

1) The Maze Runner (2009)

The Maze Runner By James Dashner

The first book in The Maze Runner Trilogy, The Maze Runner, was released in 2009. It tells the story of Thomas, a young man, who wakes up inside a metal elevator that brings him to the Glade. He has no recollection of who he is or how he got there. The only thing he remembers is his name. Slowly, he starts to make friends with the boys already in the Glade.

His friends, Alby and Newt, teach him the ropes of life in the Glade. They teach him that once every month, the same elevator that brought him to the Glade also delivers food, medicines, and some weapons. Every month, it also brings a new boy who has no recollection of him. However, only three days after Thomas arrives, the elevator delivers a young girl.

Also read: Shatter Me Series: Dystopian Novels

2) The Scorch Trials (2010)

The Scorch Trials By James Dashner

The Scorch Trials was published in 2010 and is the second book in the main Maze Runner trilogy and the fourth chronologically. This book picks up right after the events of The Maze Runner. Thomas has solved the maze and believes that he has earned his freedom. However, WICKED has other things in mind for Thomas and his fellow Gladers.

3) The Death Cure (2011)

The Death Cure By James Dashner

The Death Cure was published in 2011. This book is meant to be the third book in the main Maze Runner trilogy and the fifth and last book according to the narrative order. This book follows Mark and Trina, two survivors of the Sun Flares.

4) Crank Palace (2020)

Crank Palace By James Dashner

Crank Palace is a novella that was published in 2020 and follows Newt during the events of the Death Cure.

5) The Maze Cutter (2022)

The Maze Cutter By James Dashner

The Maze Cutter was published in 2022. It is a spin-off of the Maze Runner and is set seventy-three years after the events of the Death Cure. This book explores the lives of the descendants of the surviving Gladers from the original series and new members from new factions.

The Maze Runner Prequel Books

1) The Kill Order (2012)

The Kill Order By James Dashner

The Kill Order is the first prequel book in the Maze Runner Series and the fourth instalment overall. This book was published in 2012 and is set prior to the events recounted in the Fever Code. The novel begins in New York after the world is hit by catastrophic solar flares. The prologue of this book sets the events of the Maze Runner in motion.

2) The Fever Code (2016)

The Fever Code By James Dashner

The Fever Code is technically the second book chronologically in the Maze Runner series and precedes the events of the Maze Runner. It was published in 2016. This book follows Stephen a five-year-old boy who has been given up by his mother after his father died of a bad infection of the Flare. At the World in Catastrophe Killzone Experiment Department, Stephen is renamed Thomas and is kept in the middle of the Alaskan forest where he has to go through blood tests and advanced classes.

The Maze Runner Books in Chronological Order

The chronological order of the Maze Runner Book series is:

  1. The Kill Order
  2. The Fever Code
  3. The Maze Runner
  4. The Scorch Trials
  5. The Death Cure
  6. Crank Palace
  7. The Maze Cutter

The Maze Runner Companion Books

1) The Maze Runner Files

The Maze Runner Files

The Maze Runner files is a short booklet published in 2013 that contains supplemental information about the Flare, WICKED, and some of the Gladers.

2) Inside the Maze Runner: The Guide to the Glade

Inside the Maze Runner: The Guide to the Glade

Inside the Maze Runner: The Guide to the Glade was published in 2014 and written by Veronica Deets. Inside the Maze Runner is a companion book that features photographs, profiles of the Gladers, details about the Glade, and some more details about the Maze.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many books of Maze Runner are there?

There are 5 main books in the Maze Runner series:

  1. The Maze Runner (2009)
  2. The Scorch Trials (2010)
  3. The Death Cure (2011)
  4. Crank Palace (2020)
  5. The Maze Cutter (2022)

What are all 10 of The Maze Runner books?

There are 9 Maze Runner books that include 5 main books, 2 prequels and  2 companion books. 

Which Maze Runner is the best?

The first book of the series, 'The Maze Runner' is considered the best by the fans and critics alike.

Can a 12 year old read Maze Runner?

The Maze Runner book series is appropriate for young adults of the age 12+.

Is The Maze Runner good for 14 year olds?

The Maze Runner book series is appropriate for young adults of the age 12+. 14 year olds will certainly enjoy all the 7 books. 

Are there LGBT characters in Maze Runner?

Nowhere in the Maze Runner series has any character been shown as LGBTQ+.

Is there a girl in Maze Runner?

Teresa is the only girl in the Glade. She is also one of the main protagonist.

Is The Maze Runner dark?

The Maze Runner books are set in a dark, dystopian land. It is not a dark themed novel series but there are some dark and violent elements. 

Does anyone kiss in The Maze Runner?

Yes, there is a kiss in The Scorch Trials. In this book, Teresa kisses Thomas on mouth. 

Also answers: Is there any kissing in Maze Runner?


Is there any Romance in The Maze Runner?

There is not much romance in the novels. There is some attraction between the two protagonists Thomas and Teresa but it doesn't go beyond a kiss. 

Who is the bad guy in Maze Runner?

The Rat Man is the main antagonist of The Maze Runner trilogy.

The Maze Runner Books in Order
Pin this: The Maze Runner Books in Order