Junji Ito Books in Order

Junji Ito’s books primarily revolve around horror and surrealism themes. His stories often feature bizarre and unsettling imagery, and explore the psychological and physical effects of fear and terror on his characters. Some of his most famous works include Uzumaki, which tells the story of a town cursed by spirals.

Tomie, which features a supernatural, indestructible girl who drives men to madness and murder; and Gyo, which centers on a strange epidemic of fish with mechanical legs that terrorize Japan.

Sl. No.Junji Ito Books in Order
1)Tomie (1987)
2)Flesh Colored Horror (1990)
3)Museum of Terror, Volume 1 (1997)
4)Museum of Terror, Volume 2 (1997)
5)Museum of Terror, Volume 3 (1997)
6)Uzumaki, Volume 1 (1998)
7)Frankenstein (1999)
8)Uzumaki, Volume 2 (1999)
9)Uzumaki, Volume 3 (1999)
10)Gyo, Volume 1 (2002)
11)Gyo, Volume 2 (2004)
12)Hellstar Remina (2005)
13)Black Paradox (2009)
14)Junji Ito’s Cat Diary (2009)
15)Deserter (2011)
16)Lovesickness (2011)
17)Dissolving Classroom (2013)
18)Smashed (2013)
19)Fragments of Horror (2014)
20)Shiver (2015)
21)No Longer Human (2019)
22)Sensor (2019)
23)The Art of Junji Ito (2019)
24)Venus in the Blind Spot (2020)
25)The Liminal Zone (2022)
26)Mimi’s Ghost Stories
27)Spiral into Horror
28)The Enigma of Amigara Fault
29)Ghosts of the Tsunami
30)Junji Ito’s Dissolving Beauty
31)Slug Girl
32)Voices in the Dark
33)The Human Chair
34)Army of One

Other notable works by Ito include The Enigma of Amigara Fault, Hellstar Remina, Fragments of Horror, and Smashed, among others. His stories often blur the lines between reality and fantasy, and explore the darkest corners of the human psyche.

Junji Ito’s Biography

Junji Ito is a Japanese manga artist and author known for his horror and surrealist works. He was born on July 31, 1963, in Gifu, Japan. Ito began his career as a manga artist in the late 1980s and gained recognition for his unique style, which often features grotesque imagery and unsettling themes.

His notable works include Uzumaki, Tomie, and Gyo, among others. Ito has won several awards for his contributions to the horror genre, including the prestigious Eisner Award in 2020 for Remina.

Junji Ito Books in Order

1) Tomie (1987)

Tomie (1987)

This manga revolves around a mysterious and beautiful girl named Tomie, who seems to be immortal and can drive men to madness.

Related post: Toilet-Bound Hanako-Kun Books in Order

2) Flesh Colored Horror (1990)

Flesh Colored Horror (1990)

3) Museum of Terror, Volume 1 (1997)

Museum of Terror, Volume 1 (1997)

4) Museum of Terror, Volume 2 (1997)

Museum of Terror, Volume 2 (1997)

5) Museum of Terror, Volume 3 (1997)

Museum of Terror, Volume 3 (1997)

6) Uzumaki, Volume 1 (1998)

Uzumaki, Volume 1 (1998)

This horror manga is centered on a town that becomes cursed by spirals, causing strange and grotesque events to occur.

7) Frankenstein (1999)

Frankenstein (1999)

Ito’s adaptation of Mary Shelley’s classic novel, Frankenstein, features his signature horror and surrealism style, as well as new twists and turns.

8) Uzumaki, Volume 2 (1999)

Uzumaki, Volume 2 (1999)

9) Uzumaki, Volume 3 (1999)

Uzumaki, Volume 3 (1999)

10) Gyo, Volume 1 (2002)

Gyo, Volume 1 (2002)

In this manga, a strange epidemic of fish with mechanical legs terrorizes Japan, and the cause behind the outbreak is gradually revealed.

Related post: My Hero Academia Manga Books in Order

11) Gyo, Volume 2 (2004)

Gyo, Volume 2 (2004)

12) Hellstar Remina (2005)

Hellstar Remina (2005)

In this manga, a newly-discovered planet named Remina causes chaos and destruction on Earth when it appears to be heading toward the planet.

13) Black Paradox (2009)

Black Paradox (2009)

This manga follows a detective as he investigates a series of gruesome murders that appear to be connected to a mysterious woman named Saiko.

14) Junji Ito’s Cat Diary (2009)

Junji Ito's Cat Diary (2009)

A departure from his usual horror themes, this manga is a comedic autobiographical account of Ito’s experiences with his cats.

15) Deserter (2011)

Deserter (2011)

16) Lovesickness (2011)

Lovesickness (2011)

17) Dissolving Classroom (2013)

Dissolving Classroom (2013)

This manga follows a pair of siblings who have a strange ability to dissolve people’s morals and cause chaos wherever they go.

18) Smashed (2013)

Smashed (2013)

This collection of short stories includes tales of a woman who becomes obsessed with a strange doll, a man who discovers a cursed artifact, and a boy who encounters a grotesque creature in the woods.

19) Fragments of Horror (2014)

Fragments of Horror (2014)

This collection of short horror stories includes tales of a cursed nursery rhyme, a cursed house, and a woman who undergoes a bizarre transformation.

20) Shiver (2015)

Shiver (2015)

This collection of nine stories includes tales of a man who is haunted by a strange doll, a girl who can communicate with the dead, and a boy who becomes obsessed with a girl with a mysterious illness.

Related Post: Demon Slayer Books in Order

21) No Longer Human (2019)

No Longer Human (2019)

This manga adaptation of Osamu Dazai’s novel tells the story of a man who struggles with mental illness and alienation, and the events that lead him to take his own life.

22) Sensor (2019)

Sensor (2019)

23) The Art of Junji Ito (2019)

The Art of Junji Ito (2019)

24) Venus in the Blind Spot (2020)

Venus in the Blind Spot (2020)

25) The Liminal Zone (2022)

The Liminal Zone (2022)

26) Mimi’s Ghost Stories

This manga tells the story of Mimi, a young girl who can see ghosts, and her encounters with various supernatural entities.

27) Spiral into Horror

This collection of horror stories includes tales of a cursed movie theater, a haunted painting, and a man who becomes obsessed with a strange spiral pattern.

28) The Enigma of Amigara Fault

This short manga tells the story of a group of people who become obsessed with a strange fault in a mountain that seems to be shaped like human silhouettes.

29) Ghosts of the Tsunami

This non-fiction book recounts the devastating 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami in Japan and the stories of those who survived.

30) Junji Ito’s Dissolving Beauty

This manga follows a young woman named Tomie as she discovers a secret society of people who seek to dissolve their bodies and achieve a state of beauty beyond human understanding.

31) Slug Girl

This short manga tells the story of a girl who is bullied and humiliated by her classmates and seeks revenge with the help of a strange creature.

32) Voices in the Dark

This collection of horror stories features tales of a man who hears voices coming from a nearby apartment, a girl who hears a strange noise, and a cursed radio broadcast.

33) The Human Chair

This short story tells the tale of a writer who discovers a strange chair in his study and the horrifying truth behind its origin.

34) Army of One

This manga follows a group of high school students who become trapped in a mysterious and dangerous video game.

Related Post: Naruto Books in Order