Colleen Hoover’s It Ends With Us Book Series & Sequel Reading Guide

Colleen Hoover’s It Ends With Us series is an emotionally charged collection of contemporary young adult romance novels that delve into the power of love, personal growth, and complex relationships.

The ‘It Ends With Us’ book series is a mixture of Colleen Hoover’s signature blend of compelling storytelling, thought-provoking themes, and a blend of raw emotions.

Colleen Hoover’s It Ends With Us Series Summary

Colleen Hoover’s ‘It Ends With Us’ series introduces us to Lily Bloom, a woman torn between two men: Ryle Kincaid and Atlas Corrigan. As the story unfolds, Hoover weaves a narrative that explores the complexities of love, sacrifice, and the impact of personal history. The book series is praised for its honest portrayal of challenging situations and emotional intensity.

The It Ends With Us book series perfectly exemplifies Colleen Hoover’s ability to write relatable characters, explore the multifaceted nature of relationships, and tackle difficult topics with grace and sensitivity. The series is a must-read for fans of romance stories that go beyond cliches, providing profound insights into the power of resilience.

Throughout the series, Hoover tackles the issue of domestic violence by shedding a light on the cycle of violence, the challenges of breaking free from an abusive partner, and its effects on the family and society as a whole. It sheds a light on the importance of establishing and maintaining personal boundaries.

Related Article: Authors Like Colleen Hoover For Romance Book Lovers

It Ends With Us Series Reading Order

1) It Ends With Us (2016)

2) It Starts With Us (2022)

All Books in It Ends With Us Series

1) It Ends With Us (2016, Ages 17+)

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

It Ends With Us is the first book in the It Ends With Us book series by Colleen Hoover. The book has sold over a million copies and has been translated into twenty languages. It Ends With Us follows Lily, a hardworking woman who is determined to achieve the life of her dreams.

When she starts her own business and meets a gorgeous neurosurgeon, Ryle Kincaid, her life suddenly seems too good to be true. However, Ryle can be arrogant, stubborn, assertive, and also sensitive. He has a strict no-dating policy even though he has a soft spot for Lily. Ryle’s aversion to romantic relationships makes Lily wonder about what happened to Ryle in the past.

As she questions her new relationship, she starts becoming overwhelmed with the thoughts of her first love- Atlas Corrigan. This book will surely take you on a rollercoaster of emotions- from ecstasy to contentment to deep anger and sadness.

Colleen Hoover hooks you on to the story with fantastic character development and great story progression, whilst teaching us about hope and perseverance in relationships.

2) It Starts With Us (2022, Ages 17+)

It Starts With Us

It Starts With Us is a sequel to Colleen Hoover’s hit 2016 novel, It Ends With Us. Hoover admitted to writing the book as a show of gratitude to fans of the first novel. The book is centered around Lily and Atlas’ romantic relationship with alternating chapters told from the perspectives of Lily and Atlas.

Lily and Ryle have agreed to co-parent their daughter after their divorce. When one day she bumps into her old lover, Atlas, she is elated to meet him and goes on a date with him. However, she is worried that Ryle will not approve of the relationship as he is still a big part of her life.

The book is perfect for romance novel readers who enjoy a storyline that is centered around the friends to lover’s archetypes. Hoover wrote this book because of the love and support she received from her fans for the first book.

She decided to write a purposefully lighter story while still dealing with heavy topics. It portrays the importance of open communication, support, and trust to make a relationship work.

Related Post: Colleen Hoover’s It Ends With Us Trigger Warnings