Holly Barker Books in Order (6 Action Books)

Here you will find the definitive list of Holly Barker Books in Order.

Holly Barker is the main protagonist of Stuart Woods’ Holly Barker series. An ex-military cop, at the age of thirty-seven, Barker decides that it is time to retire from the military and take a job as the Deputy Chief of Police.

However, what was supposed to be a low-stake job soon led to a lot of heartbreak, confusion, and new professional opportunities for Barker.

An extremely suspenseful and action-packed series, the Holly Parker books are praised for its likeable characters and over-the-top plots that takes a small-town cop on criminal manhunts around the biggest cities in the world.

It is also known as the “Orchid series,” with each book’s title including the word “Orchid.”

Sl. No.Holly Barker Books in Order
1)Orchid Beach (1998)
2)Orchid Blues (2001)
3)Blood Orchid (2002)
4)Reckless Abandon (2004)
5)Iron Orchid (2005)
6)Hothouse Orchid (2009)
Holly Barker Books in chronological order

Holly Barker Books in Order

1) Orchid Beach (1998)

Orchid Beach (1998)
Orchid Beach (1998)

Orchid Beach is Stuart Wood’s first novel in the Holly Barker series that introduces Deputy Chief of Police of Orchid Beach, Florida Holly Barker.

Thirty-seven-year-old Major Holly Barker assumes the position of Deputy Chief of Police after retiring as a military cop.

However, what she assumes would be a quiet job in a quaint town soon turns into a living nightmare after one of Holly’s new colleagues is murdered in cold blood.

With little to no clues, her only companion through these dangerous times is a loyal Doberman of exceptional intelligence named Daisy. Will Holly Barker find the killer with Daisy?

2) Orchid Blues (2001)

Orchid Blues (2001)
Orchid Blues (2001)

Deputy Chief of Police Holly Barker and her trusty Doberman, Daisy are back for another adventure in Stuart Woods’ Orchid Blue.

What was supposed to be the happiest day in Holly Barker’s life soon becomes disastrous after a brutal robbery leaves an innocent bystander dead.

As Holly launches an investigation into the robbery, she discovers that the culprits behind the crime are members of a mysterious clan and that only her father, Ham, can help her bring justice.

However, things become ugly pretty soon as they involve themselves with criminals that even the FBI wouldn’t dare to investigate.

3) Blood Orchid (2002)

Blood Orchid (2002)
Blood Orchid (2002)

When Ed Shine, a real-estate developer, decides to visit the town of Orchid Beach, Florida, he makes an acquaintance with Holly, Ham, and Daisy.

However, his entry into town is accompanied by the attempted murder of Holly’s close friend and the discovery of a vacant floater in the Intercoastal Waterway.

When Holly opens an investigation into these mysterious incidents with the help of a handsome and charming FBI agent, they discover that the incidents might be connected to the most lucrative scam in the history of this idyllic town.

4) Reckless Abandon (2004)

Reckless Abandon (2004)
Reckless Abandon (2004)

Reckless Abandon is a crossover novel between two of Stuart Wood’s most iconic characters- lawyer and private investigator, Stone Barrington, and Deputy Chief of Police, Holly Barker.

Holly finds herself in New York on the trail of Trini Rodriguez, a criminal whom Holly had killed in a previous story.

Rodriguez is wanted for the bombing and mass killing of a dozen people.

However, unbeknownst to Holly, Rodriguez has been placed in the Witness Protection Program by the FBI and CIA so that he can help them catch an Arab terrorist who is involved in a money-laundering scheme with the Mafia.

5) Iron Orchid (2005)

Iron Orchid (2005)
Iron Orchid (2005)

One a military cop and the deputy chief of police, Holly Barker is now a CIA special agent.

When an ex-CIA operative who kills political figures for sport, Teddy Fay’s plane explodes, the CIA is led to believe that he is dead.

However, when the CIA discovers that not only is he still alive but he is still killing, they assemble a task force with Holly Barker.

During her investigation into Fay, she accidentally runs into him in midtown Manhattan and leads him into a chase across the city.

Eventually Fay disappears again and the killings stop too but it is unclear whether Fay has stopped killing or has been stopped from killing.

6) Hothouse Orchid (2009)

Hothouse Orchid (2009)
Hothouse Orchid (2009)

When Holly Barker lets another terrorist slip from under their nose, the CIA makes her take a vacation. Back in Orchid Beach, a new surprise awaits her.

While in the army, Holly and another female officer brought charges of sexual harassment against a senior officer.

While the officer was acquitted of his charges, he was made to leave the army. And that officer is now the Chief of Police of Orchid Beach. Holly decides that it is time to bring the officer to justice.