Herbie Fisher Books in Order

Barely Legal is a thriller novel written by Stuart Woods in collaboration with Parnell Hall. The novel is the first and only novel in which Herbie Fisher is the main protagonist of the story.

Fans of Stuart Woods’ Stone Barrington series will recognize the name Herbie Fisher instantly.

Fisher is the protégé of Stone Barrington. Described as a sad man with no motivation in life to succeed, we follow Fisher’s evolution into the youngest partner at the law firm Woodman & Weld.

Fisher quickly became known for his sophistication and professional acumen.

His first appearance in the Stone Barrington novel series was made in Dirty Work (2003), he then appeared in Fresh Disaster (2007) and was one of the main characters in Unnatural Acts (2012).

Barely Legal is written by Stuart Woods and Parnell Hall. Stuart Wood was an American novelist, born in Georgia who enrolled in the Air National Guard and began a career in the advertising industry.

In the 1960s, Woods emigrated to England and subsequently to Ireland, where he wrote television commercials and copies for print advertisements.

Woods’ first novel, Chiefs was published in 1981 and instantly became a sleeper hit with the book being adapted into a miniseries in 1983 starring Charlton Heston.

In a career that has spanned 30+ years, Woods has published 44 novels Woods was married to Jeanmarie Cooper and sadly passed away at the age of 84 in 2022.

Parnell Hall was an American mystery writer, best known for writing the screenplay for the 1984 cult classic C.H.U.D.

Hall bears an extensive bibliography of mystery novels and was the creator and writer of book series like ‘The Stanley Hastings Mysteries,’ ‘The Puzzle Lady Mysteries, ‘Teddy Fay.’

Hall also collaborated with Will Shortz for sudoku puzzles and Manny Nosowsky for crossword puzzles. He was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award by Malice Domestic.

Herbie Fisher Appearances in Stone Barrington Series

1) Dirty Work (2003, 9th Stone Barrington book)

Dirty Work (2003)
Dirty Work (2003)

When Stone Barrington goes undercover to follow a heiress’ cheating husband, he finds the husband dead and is implicated in the murder. To clear his name, Barrington must find the real culprit from amongst New York’s glitterati.

2) Fresh Disasters (2007, 13th Stone Barrington book)

Fresh Disasters (2007)
Fresh Disasters (2007)

Stone Barrington is on the bad side of the mafia after he agrees to represent a sleazy con man.

3) Unnatural Acts (2012, 23rd Stone Barrington book)

Unnatural Acts (2012)
Unnatural Acts (2012)

Barrington is hired by a billionaire to talk sense into his wayward son. What seems like a simple job soon becomes complicated when the memory of an old case comes back to haunt him.

Herbie Fisher Books in Order (Standalone)

Barely Legal (2017)
Barely Legal (2017)

Barely Legal is a collaboration between thriller novelist Stuart Woods and mystery novelist Parnell Hall.

The main protagonist of Barely Legal is Herbie Fisher, a New York lawyer, who is known for his extensive legal knowledge.

In Barely Legal, Fisher is approached to defend David Ross, the son of a New York City councilman, who was accused of selling drugs at a college party.

Everybody knows that the case against David is in retaliation for his father not approaching the building plans of a ruthless real estate developer. Will Fisher successfully prove David’s innocence in this case?