Furthermore Series in Order by Tahereh Mafi

Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series is an enthralling and whimsical middle-grade fantasy duology that takes readers on a magical journey through a world full of wonder, danger, and self-discovery. The series, which consists of two books, “Furthermore” and “Whichwood,” explores themes of identity, friendship, courage, and the power of embracing one’s own uniqueness.

Sl. No.Furthermore Series in Order
1)Furthermore (2017)
2)Whichwood (2018)

Who is the author of the Furthermore book series?

The Furthermore series is written by Tahereh Mafi, an Iranian-American author best known for her young adult and middle-grade novels. She was born in Connecticut, USA, on May 27, 1988. Mafi rose to prominence with her best-selling young adult series “Shatter Me,” which drew a large fan base and critical acclaim. Poetic language, vivid imagery, and emotional depth distinguish her writing.

Mafi’s other books, in addition to the “Shatter Me” series and the standalone novels “A Very Large Expanse of Sea” and “An Emotion of Great Delight,” among others. Her works have been translated into a number of languages, and she has received numerous awards and nominations.

Furthermore Series in Order

1) Furthermore (2017)

Furthermore (2017)

The first book in the Furthermore series, titled “Furthermore,” tells the story of Alice Queensmeadow, a young girl who lives in the magical land of Ferenwood. Colour is everything in Ferenwood, and everyone has a unique magical talent. Alice, on the other hand, is an outcast in her community due to her lack of colour, which makes her virtually invisible.

Alice’s father, a well-known magical Surrenderer, goes missing, and she suspects he is trapped in the perilous land of Furthermore. In order to find her father and bring color back into her life, Alice embarks on a perilous journey into Furthermore. She meets a variety of eccentric and fantastical characters, faces dangerous challenges, and discovers the power of friendship and self-acceptance along the way.

Alice learns valuable lessons about the true nature of magic, the importance of embracing her unique qualities, and the strength found in unlikely friendships throughout her adventure. In her quest to restore colour and magic to Ferenwood, she travels through surreal landscapes, encounters magical creatures, and confronts her deepest fears.

“Furthermore” is a whimsical and enchanting story full of imaginative world-building, lyrical prose, and vivid descriptions. It delves into themes such as identity, belonging, self-discovery, and celebrating one’s uniqueness. Alice learns valuable lessons about love, courage, and the power of embracing one’s true self as she overcomes obstacles and embraces her own strengths.

The reading age is 9+ years and the grade level is 4-7.

2) Whichwood (2018)

Whichwood (2018)

Mafi continues the story in “Whichwood,” a companion novel that intertwines with the events of “Furthermore.” This time, the spotlight is on a new protagonist, Laylee Layla Fenix, who lives in the neighbouring land of Whichwood. Laylee is the world’s only mordeshoor, a person who washes the bodies of the dead and assists them in finding peace in the afterlife. However, Laylee’s life is complicated by her responsibilities and the loss of her mother, which has left her isolated and overwhelmed.

When Alice, the main character in “Furthermore,” arrives in Whichwood, she learns about Laylee’s plight and vows to help her. In their quest to save Laylee’s world, they must navigate the mysteries of Whichwood and face perilous challenges together. They encounter themes of loss, grief, and the healing power of friendship along the way.

Tahereh Mafi’s signature lyrical writing style, which infuses the narrative with poetic language, metaphorical descriptions, and a sense of whimsy, distinguishes the “Furthermore” series. The books also delve into more profound themes, such as the value of accepting one’s true self, the strength found in unlikely friendships, and the transformative power of empathy and compassion.

Mafi crafts a narrative that resonates with young readers through the fantastical worlds of Ferenwood and Whichwood, encouraging them to embrace their own unique qualities, navigate the complexities of relationships, and find their place in the world. The series celebrates imagination, resilience, and the beauty of being true to oneself, all while weaving a magical story that captivates readers’ hearts and minds.

The reading age is 12-17 years and the grade level is 7-9.

Characters in Tahere Mafi’s Furthermore book series

Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series features a vibrant cast of main characters who embark on magical adventures and personal journeys of self-discovery. Let’s look at the series’ main characters:

Alice Queensmeadow

Alice Queensmeadow, the protagonist in “Furthermore,” captures readers’ hearts with her determination and resilience. Alice is a young girl who lives in Ferenwood, a village where colour is highly valued. Alice, on the other hand, is an outcast in her community due to her lack of colour, which makes her virtually invisible. Despite this, she possesses the exceptional Surrender talent, which allows her to manipulate and control magic. Alice sets out on a quest to find her father, who was famous for his Surrendering abilities. Throughout her journey, she faces a variety of challenges, meets amusing characters, and discovers the power of friendship and self-acceptance. Alice’s character arc revolves around accepting her differences, figuring out her place in the world, and discovering the true magic within herself.

Laylee Layla Fenix

Laylee Layla Fenix, the protagonist of “Whichwood,” takes the spotlight. Laylee lives in Whichwood and bears the burden of being the only mordeshoor, a person who washes the bodies of the dead and guides them to the afterlife. Laylee lives a lonely and overwhelming existence, burdened by grief and the loss of her mother. Laylee’s life takes an unexpected turn when Alice arrives in Whichwood. Laylee learns to confront her pain, heal from her past, and discover her own strength through their friendship. Themes of loss, resilience, and the transformative power of genuine connection are central to Laylee’s journey.

Oliver Newbanks

Oliver, also known as Oliver Nocturne, is Alice’s classmate and the series’ central character. He is well-known for his extensive knowledge and enthusiasm for rules and logic. Oliver is Alice’s companion on her adventures, offering advice and support. While initially reserved and cautious, Oliver gradually opens up and develops a deep friendship with Alice. In their quests, his analytical mind and resourcefulness prove invaluable.


Alice’s father is a prominent figure in her life, known for his extraordinary magic. He goes missing at the start of “Furthermore,” sparking Alice’s search. Throughout the series, Alice searches for her father and delves into the mysteries surrounding him.

Tahereh Mafi’s Biography

Tahereh Mafi is an American author of Iranian descent. She was raised in Connecticut and Northern California, her first novel was Shatter Me. She has since expanded the Shatter Me universe and released subsequent sequels. In 2017, she announced that she was working on another trilogy in the Shatter Me universe, which will be told from the dual POVs of Juliette Ferrars and Warner, the protagonist and antagonist, respectively. Her other works include Furthermore Book Series, Woven Kingdom, A Very Large Expanse of Sea, and An Emotion of Great Delight. Here is the list of all her books by Tahereh Mafi’s released till now.

Furthermore Series in Order by Tahereh Mafi
Furthermore Series in Order by Tahereh Mafi