Bernard Cornwell Books: Complete List

Before we proceed to list all of Bernard Cornwell books, it important to know the personality behind this imposing giant of an author.

Bernard Cornwell is a British-American novelist born in London. His biological parents met during World War 2. While his father was a Canadian airman and his mother was in Britain’s Women’s Auxiliary Air Force.

He was adopted by a Christian Fundamentalist family who belonged to a religious sect known as the Peculiar People.

Cornwell has stated saying that his religious upbringing made him reject all religions and become a fervent atheist.

Cornwell attended London University and after a brief stint as a teacher, joined the BBC where he worked as a researcher on the Nationwide Programme and even became the Head of Current Affairs Television for the BBC in Northern Ireland.

After falling in love with an American woman called Judy, Bernard moved to the States and started working as a writer because it was the one job that didn’t require a permit from the US government.

This led to him writing the Sharpe series. Cornwell has written several critically acclaimed historical novel series, including the Sharpe stories, the Warlord Chronicles, The Grail Quest Novels, The Saxon Stories/ The Last Kingdom, and the Starbuck Chronicles.

List of Bernard Cornwell Books

The Last Kingdom Book Series

1) The Last Kingdom (2004)
2) The Pale Horseman (2005)
3) The Lords of the North (2006)
4) Sword Song (2007)
5) The Burning Land (2009)
6) Death of Kings (2011)
7) The Pagan Lord (2013)
8) The Empty Throne (2014)
9) Warriors of the Storm (2015)
10) The Flame Bearer (2016)
11) War of the Wolf (2018)
12) Sword of Kings (2019)
13) War Lord (2020)

The Warlord Chronicles

1) The Winter King
2) Enemy of God
3) Excalibur


1) Sharpe’s Tiger
2) Sharpe’s Triumph: Richard Sharpe and the Battle of Assaye, September 1803
3) Sharpe’s Fortress
4) Sharpe’s Trafalgar
5) Sharpe’s Prey
6) Sharpe’s Rifles
7) Sharpe’s Havoc
8) Sharpe’s Eagle
9) Sharpe’s Gold: Richard Sharpe and the Destruction of Almeida, August 1810
10) Sharpe’s Escape: Richard Sharpe & the Bussaco Campaign, 1810
11) Sharpe’s Fury: Richard Sharpe & the Battle of Barrosa, March 1811
12) Sharpe’s Battle: Richard Sharpe and the Battle of Fuentes de Ooro, May 1811
13) Sharpe’s Company
14) Sharpe’s Sword: Richard Sharpe and the Salamanca Campaign, June and July 1812
15) Sharpe’s Enemy
16) Sharpe’s Honor
17) Sharpe’s Regiment
18) Sharpe’s Siege: Richard Sharpe and the Winter Campaign, 1814
19) Sharpe’s Revenge
20) Waterloo
21) Sharpe’s Devil: Richard Sharpe & the Emperor, 1820-1821
22) Sharpe’s Assassin: Richard Sharpe and the Occupation of Paris, 1815

The Grail Quest

1) The Archer’s Tale
2) Vagabond
3) Heretic
4) 1356: A Novel

The Starbuck Chronicles

1) Rebel
2) Copperhead
3) Battle Flag
4) The Bloody Ground